Should you be using herbal products?

Hello my lovelies,

I’ve been away for a while but now I’m back with a bang.(All thanks to a good friend who set me back on the right track).
While my blog took a slump, my skin journey forged forward and I’m glad to say I have quite a few things to share with you.

First on my list is, (you guessed it) HERBAL PRODUCTS.
Are they everything they claim to be? The consumer may be more discerning in other parts of the world but when you mention the word herbal in Kenya, most people think ‘natural’, ‘chemical free’ and of little impact to the skin.

First of all, noย  product is chemical free, even natural products are made up of chemical components. On a typical skin care product, the
diluent is the first ingredient listed on the list of ingredients
because it is the most abundant.ย  Many products have water as a diluent. Japanese products have started to use diluents which double up as active ingredients but let’s save that for another post.

The ingredients list goes on and on to list emulsifiers, stabilizers, preservatives and the active ingredients in the formula in the order of their abundance. Sadly, the active ingredients appear last in most cases and the bulk of what you’re buying isn’t even meant to help your skin. It could be added there just to help the manufacturing process! (Thus the need to choose products with a small list of ingredients (LOI) ).

The functional raw materials can rarely be used as a complete formula themselves. They
just donโ€™t feel good, smell good, or spread evenly. They also can be irritating in a concentrated form.
I learnt this important lesson when I bought Lady Diana AHA/BHA non-foaming herbal cleanser.

image

On the LOI it has thirteen ingredients listed haphazardly and I should I have taken this as a warning sign. Instead, I leaped for joy seeing that it had AHAs and BHAs (alpha and beta hydroxy, helpful in skin renewal), and Dr. Oz highly recommends them. What’s more, it was non-foaming!

On first contact with my skin, it made it itch and burn. I rinsed it off immediately but wasn’t ready to give it up just yet. I continued with it for two days when a crust like substance began to form on my forehead. Now at this point I had to stop and get myself another cleanser.

The moral of this story is, whether a product is herbal or not has no bearing on the quality of the product. What matters is that a product is well formulated so that the active ingredients aren’t too harsh nor too mild.

Thanks for stopping by!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

7 thoughts on “Should you be using herbal products?

  1. IvyM says:

    as always, very informative. Now i will be very attentive when choosing my products. And shame on me for thinking herbal is synonymous with great products !

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

